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Home Office: Bloomfield, Connecticut 

Mailing Address: Hartford, Connecticut 06152 

 

CIGNA HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
a Cigna company (hereinafter called Cigna) 
CERTIFICATE RIDER 

No. CR7BIASO14-2 
       CR7BIASO15-1 
       CR7BIASO16-2 

 
 

Policyholder:          Shelby County Government 
 
Rider Eligibility:    Each Employee as reported to the insurance company by your Employer 
 
Policy No. or Nos.  3209876-HRA1/HRA2/HRA3, OAP, OAPIN   
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2012 
 
 
 
You will become insured on the date you become eligible if you are in Active Service on that date or if you are 
not in Active Service on that date due to your health status. If you are not insured for the benefits described in 
your certificate on that date, the effective date of this certificate rider will be the date you become insured. 
 
This certificate rider forms a part of the certificate issued to you by Cigna describing the benefits provided under 
the policy(ies) specified above. 
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The page in your certificate coded EF 2 ELI11V44 M is replaced by the page coded EF 2 ELI11V44 M attached to this 
certificate rider. 
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Dependent Insurance 
For your Dependents to be insured, you will have to pay part 
of the cost of Dependent Insurance. 
Effective Date of Dependent Insurance 
Insurance for your Dependents will become effective on the 
date you elect it by signing an approved payroll deduction 
form, but no earlier than the day you become eligible for 
Dependent Insurance. All of your Dependents as defined will 
be included. 
Your Dependent will not be denied enrollment for Medical 
Insurance due to health status.  
Your Dependents will be insured only if you are insured. 
You will not be eligible to enroll your Dependents if you do 
not enroll them within 30 days of the date you become 
eligible, unless you qualify under the section of this certificate 
entitled "Special Enrollment Rights Under the Health 
Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA)." 
Eligible Dependents 
To be eligible for Dependent coverage under the plan, your 
Dependents must be eligible. 
Your Dependents are: 
• Your lawful spouse; 
• any child of yours who is: 

• less than 26 years old. 
• 26 or more years old, unmarried, and primarily supported 

by you and incapable of self-sustaining employment by 
reason of mental or physical disability which arose while 
the child was covered as a Dependent under this Plan, or 
while covered as a dependent under a prior plan with no 
break in coverage. 
Proof of the child's condition and dependence must be 
submitted to CIGNA within 31 days after the date the 
child ceases to qualify above. From time to time, but not 
more frequently than once a year, CIGNA may require 
proof of the continuation of such condition and 
dependence. 

The term Child means your natural child or legally adopted 
child.  
The term Child also includes: 
• your stepchildren if they are actually dependent upon you 

for support and maintenance and live with you in a 
permanent parent-child relationship (such as guardianship 
and custody). 

• a legally adopted child, including that child from the first 
day of placement in your home regardless of whether the 

adoption has become final, provided that the child  has not 
attained age 18 as of the date of such adoption or placement 
for adoption and a petition for final decree of adoption has 
been duly filed and is pending before the court. Adoption 
must be confirmed by a copy of the final decree from the 
court. 

• your dependent children who do not reside with you due to 
a legal separation or divorce decree which requires you to 
provide coverage. 

• a child for whom you have been ordered permanent custody 
and guardianship by a court of law (a copy of the court 
order is required to establish eligibility). 

• any other child related to you by blood or marriage and 
dependent upon you by court mandate for support or 
coverage. 

Benefits for a Dependent child will continue until the last day 
before your Dependent's birthday, in the year in which the 
limiting age is reached. 
No person may be covered as a dependent of more than one 
employee. 
An employee may not be covered as an employee and as a 
dependent. 
With respect to a husband and wife, each of their children 
shall, if otherwise eligible, be considered an eligible 
dependent of one parent. 
Coverage for Adopted Children 
Any child under the age of 18 who is adopted by you, 
including a child who is placed with you for adoption, will be 
eligible for dependent insurance upon the date of placement 
with you. A child will be considered placed for adoption when 
you become legally obligated to support that child, totally or 
partially, prior to that child’s adoption. 
If a child placed for adoption is not adopted, all health 
coverage ceases when the placement ends, and will not be 
continued. 
The provisions in the “Coverage for Newborns” section of this 
Summary of Benefits that describe requirements for 
enrollment and effective date of insurance will also apply to 
an adopted child or a child placed with you for adoption. 
Any “Pre-existing Condition Limitation” in this certificate will 
be waived for an adopted child or a child placed for adoption. 
Coverage for Newborns 
A Newborn child is eligible for coverage from the moment of 
birth for covered expenses due directly to: 
• Injury;  
• Premature birth; or 
• A condition which exists at birth. 
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Newborn children added to coverage within 30 days of birth 
are covered from birth. A retro-premium is required to cover 
the month of birth. A certified copy of the birth certificate is 
required to add a newborn child (the mother’s copy will only 
be accepted within 30 days of birth). Newborn charges, 
including nursery charges, are not covered if the Newborn is 
not added to your coverage within 30 days after birth. 
Failure to add a Dependent child while eligible during the 30 
day enrollment period will delay coverage for the Dependent. 
The Dependent may be added later, but coverage will not be 
effective until the first of the month following a full month’s 
family premium deduction if proof of relationship documents 
have been furnished. 
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